I'm really really bad with this blogging thing. Seems like I don't find it in me to blog and blog except for the times where I really have to blog... Hence why I guess I never really went public with it. Then I realised, I really do love blogging and writing and sharing, so why not? Wow I have used "really" one too many times, right there...
Hmm, where was I? Oh yeah really bad at blogging... So I was thinking well my life is eventful enough to possibly write a blog about my own life but I will save you all the petty details, if that's what you're worried about. I mean I do looooveee fashion so a fashion blog could have been an option but a very good friend of mine is a fashion blogger and besides me being completely addicted to her blog, we kind of think very much alike so I really wouldn't be giving much back to the blogging community by creating my own fashion blog.
Which brings me to today's subject. I am a born and bred food lover. Since I was a tiny little kid, I used to spend hours with my grandad on his lap in the kitchen cooking and smelling and tasting. My grandad, you must know, was one of the queen of England's chefs when she resided in Malta. (How cool is that?!) Naturally, cooking became a huge passion of mine- the smelling, tasting and creating is an addiction on its own. So far so good, right?
Until it's not... because as it happens, my other passion is fashion- more specifically dresses, loads and loads of dresses and earrings and shoes and shoees and bags and headbands and bows and flowers and anything with a vintAge (as the French pronounce it) flair. Yes, I admit it - I do not own one single pair of jeans, trousers actually except for a classic high waisted black skinny leg pant from Zara which I am in love with since it makes my backside actually look something like JLO's (or so I hope).
This thus leads to my daily moral dilemma which haunts me at every single waking moment... What, in heaven's and all its residents' name, WHAT was God thinking when He put the cooking and the fashion genes into one pod- me. I mean let's face it, it's not hard to decipher that being a lover of food is almost like saying 2012 is happening right NOW, if I even but try and conceive the idea of a diet. Good quality food to me is as good as anything which usually involves a naked torso on a cinema screen, if you get my drift? I mean we only live once right? So what do you do? Every opportunity I pass to savour food is one that may never come again. But then every opportunity I indulge in is a step further for me from ever being able to wear clothes of a certain type by certain amazing names like Chanel and Dior and Vivienne Westwood and their likes really.
So every single day of my life I am stuck in this, no really I'm not even exaggerating, existential crisis of which side to go to... Will it be heavenly taste of delicious food or the devilish yet so so tempting ways of the fashion industry? Since it kind of alternates depending on days I really am not doing much progress with actually choosing a side... With an "I'll diet tomorrow" mantra and an "I absoeffinlutely-must-try-out-that-recipe" attitude, you don't have to be Einstein to realise it is a losing battle, the one I'm fighting.
Nevertheless, I may or may not see the end of this at one or some point, until then I shall continue shopping to dress my voluptuous 1940's curvatures (I always think I was born in the wrong era! These curves could have made me famous in those days! Screw you size 0!!) and savour the essence of incredible flavours to my heart's content. But really, life would have been so much easier if only my pod had one specific pea... So I raise my Margarita to all those who have to live with the continuous struggle of juggling two surprisingly opposing peas in the same pod, may you all find the right balance to be as happy and as fulfilled as those who are lucky enough to carry one pea. :)
